Health Care Leaders: LGBTQ Discrimination has no place in Vermont

LGBTQ Health Care
News Releases

Health Care Leaders: LGBTQ Discrimination has no place in Vermont


As leaders in Vermont's health care system, we are committed to providing care and services without discrimination, regardless of who you are and who you love. Vermont’s hospitals, providers, health care professionals, and insurers will not change our practices based on new federal guidance that attempts to strip protections from lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) people.


Every LGBTQ Vermonter must be able to access health care without fear of discrimination. Vermont law protects LGBTQ people from discrimination in health care today, and Vermont's health care community stands united against this discrimination.


Along with our continued commitment to provide care and services without discrimination, we recommit to improving the ways we serve the LGBTQ community.


If you do experience health care discrimination or other issues accessing care, you have resources:

● You can contact the Pride Center of Vermont's SafeSpace Anti-Violence Program
during office hours at 802-863-0003 or by emailing safespace@pridecentervt.org .
The SafeSpace Anti-Violence Program’s mission is to end violence and
discrimination in the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and
HIV-affected (LGBTQ+) people in Vermont.


● You can contact the Department of Financial Regulation by phone at
833-DFR-HOTLINE or by email at dfr.insuranceinfo@vermont.gov . DFR is
committed to ensuring Vermonters, especially those in marginalized and vulnerable
communities, have access to medically necessary care.


● You can contact the Health Care Advocate HelpLine by phone at 800-917-778 or by
email at HCA@vtlegalaid.org . The Office of the Health Care Advocate is a free
resource available to help everyone in Vermont solve problems related to health
care, including health insurance and health care access.


Signed,


AIDS Project of Southern Vermont
Karen Peterson | Executive Director
apsv@sover.net | 802-254-8263


Bi-State Primary Care Association
Georgia Maheras | VP Policy & Strategy
gmaheras@bistatepca.org | 857-234-5171


Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Vermont
Sara Teachout | Director of Government and Media Relations
teachouts@bcbsvt.com | 802-371-3254


Department of Financial Regulation
Michael S. Pieciak | Commissioner
Michael.Pieciak@Vermont.Gov | 802-828-2380


HealthFirst Independent Practice Association
Susan Ridzon | Executive Director
contact@vermonthealthfirst.org, 802-878-8811


HIV/HCV Resource Center
Laura Byrne | Executive Director


Office of the Health Care Advocate
Mike Fisher | Chief Health Care Advocate
mfisher@vtlegalaid.org | 800-917-7787


Planned Parenthood of Northern New England
Lucy Leriche | VP Vermont Public Affairs, PPNNE
Lucy.Leriche@ppnne.org | 802-598-4182


Recovery House, Inc.
Chadd Viger | CEO


The University of Vermont Medical Center
Stephen Leffler, MD | President & Chief Operating Officer
Stephen.Leffler@uvmhealth.org


Vermont Association of Hospitals and Health Systems
Jeff Tieman | President and Chief Executive Officer
Jocelyn@VAHHS.org | 802-355-0915


Vermont Association of Naturopathic Physicians
Dr Joshua Green | President
DrJoshuaDGreen@Gmail.com


Vermont Care Partners
Julie Tessler | Co-Executive Director
julie@vermontcarepartners.org | 802-279-0464


Vermont CARES
Peter Jacobsen | Executive Director
peter@vtcares.org | 802-863-2437


Vermont's Free & Referral Clinics
Steven Maier | Executive Director
director@vtfreeclinics.org | 802-448-4280


Vermont Long-Term Care Ombudsman Project
Sean Londergan | State Long-Term Care Ombudsman
slondergan@vtlegalaid.org | 802-383-2227


Vermont Medical Society
Jessa Barnard | Executive Director
jbarnard@vtmd.org


Vermont Program for Quality in Health Care, Inc.
Catherine E. Fulton | Executive Director
catherinef@vpqhc.org | 802-229-2449


VNAs of Vermont
Jill Mazza Olson | Executive Director
jill@vnavt.org | 802-249-8491

Please Click HERE for full PDF